Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

gas pressure limits

jhansen
jhansen Member Posts: 59
I recently installed a new weil mclain ultra 750 which has high and low gas pressure switches.  It is tied into a two inch gas main running at 5 to ten pounds and then stepped down to seven inches with a regulator at the boiler.  However there is also a three million btu lgb boiler tied into the same gas line.  When the lgb shuts down the high limit trips on the ultra.  Is there a more sensitive regulator out there that can take care of this.

Joe H.

Comments

• Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Is there a more sensitive regulator

I am not a professional heating expert, especially with gas. So bear this in mind. I do have experience designing control systems (mostly electronic) though.

So the first thing I would consider, if it is practical, is to run separate gas lines from the gas source to the two different boilers. Chances are that this will not be acceptable because of cost.

The second thing I would try, if the LGB boiler is closer to the supply than the W-M, is to put a step-down gas pressure regulator as close (but downstream) to the big boiler as possible to step the gas pressure down from the 5 to 10 pounds to about 2 pounds. Then allow the regulator in the W-M to take it down to the 7" or so that boiler requires. The theory being that the first regulator will smooth the pressure transient caused by the LGB boiler switching on and off to something the existing regulator can handle. Trying to do it all in one regulator can cause stability problems. Remember, this is all theory that definately applies to electronic systems, and I suspect it applies to gas systems as well. But you should check this idea out with a gas professional (e.g., an expert at the gas company).
  • eluv8