Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Looking for thermostat recommendation

Options
I just purchased and moved in to an older house with steam radiators.  I have some experience with steam as I work for an engineering firm that designs HVAC systems for residences in Manhattan and the surrounding areas.  I have gone around and leveled all of the radiators and replaced the air vents (used Heat Timer Vari-Valve vents).  I also reduced the pressure on the boiler down to its lowest setting (around 1 psi or less) from its initial setting of almost 3 psi.  The system seems to run fine and is relatively quiet but I want to replaced the thermostat.  Right now, I have a simple non-programmable thermostat.  I would like one that will allow me to turn the system down at night and during some days.  Also, my second floor is colder than my first floor.  I think that the thermostat is reaching temperature on the first floor before the radiators on the second floor have had enough time to heat the second floor.  I am not sure if I should relocate the thermostat or if a programmable one would allow for longer run times.  Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• jpf321
    jpf321 Member Posts: 1,568
    Options
    system balancing item #1

before you try to solve the problem by looking at the thermostat .. you should really "balance" the system .. balancing refers to a system whereby steam arrives at approximately all rads (and end of rads) at approximately the same time .. have a look at: http://www.heatinghelp.com/forum-thread/129085/Uneven-Heating#p1184396