Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

My understanding, so far, of the system

I am not a heating pro, but I want to understand how this will all work.

A house I designed, to be headed throughout with 140 F. max supply for TRV-equipped panel radiators, will require more or less 12 of these.

A mod-con boiler will be used, and the following diagram I clipped from a source provided me by a helpful <em>Wall </em>member here, shows the preferred arrangement of system piping from the ECM pressure-regulated circulator, out.  That is, supply and return manifold outlets and inlets are home-run to each panel radiator.

In my understanding, the diagram is incorrect in that no boiler loop is diagrammed, complete with its circulator and the closely-spaced tees that "connect" it (isolate it, in fact) from the system piping outboard of those tees.

Is that it, sort of?

Inside the boiler loop, we desire to supply heat to an indirect DWH, and I sort of know how that looks, but my question relates to the heating system, the isolation of it from the boiler loop via the tees, and the apparent simplicity of control.

Specifically:

1.  Should there be a boiler loop separated from the system, via the tees?

2..Is the arrangement shown of manifolds and home runs a good one, when using panel rads and TRVs for each?

3.  Is the basic control means, for the system side, that being the outdoor sensor and its control module, providing input to the ECM pressure-regulated circulator, an effective and good means of getting that 140 F. max temp water to the emitters?

Comments

• Mark Eatherton
    Mark Eatherton Member Posts: 5,852
    Only one correct answer to ANY hydronic heating question...

and that answer is, "It depends".