Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

No Main Vents? Uneven heat

Options
Goody
Goody Member Posts: 11
I am a new member to this site and I am excited it exists because I purchased a 3 unit building in Portland Maine and I am very new to steam.  Already read "We've got Steam" and have been reading threads on this wall for the last few days.  I have very uneven heating, some radiators barely get hot, burning tons of oil, clogged air vents and no insulation on pipes. I have lot's of questions but think I will start with the Main Line Vents.  I have two 2.5 inch lines totalling about 40 feet in the basement. NO VENTS on any of the Mains.   From those Main Lines I see  1 inch pipes that  drop below and runs back to the boiler.'..... where there are  three vent looking things called Vent-Rite.  Are these consider Main Line Vents???  I attached a picture. 

Comments

• Goody
    Options
    Here is another Picture

This is an example of the pipes that drop below the Main and loop back to boiler where the Vent-Rite is attached.
  • jpf321
    jpf321 Member Posts: 1,568
    Options
    shall we assume 1-pipe?

shall we assume 1-pipe system?

for 40ft of 2.5" pipe .. that's 1.2cf of air that needs to be eliminated .. if you wanted to set your "time to vent" at 1min @ 1oz, as steamhead suggested recently, you would need the venting capacity of (1pc of gorton #2 + 1pc of gorton #1)

jpf
    1-pipe Homeowner - Queens, NYC

NEW: SlantFin Intrepid TR-30 + Tankless + Riello 40-F5 @ 0.85gph | OLD: Fitzgibbons 402 boiler + Beckett "SR" Oil Gun @ 1.75gph

installed: 0-20oz/si gauge | vaporstat | hour-meter | gortons on all rads | 1pc G#2 + 1pc G#1 on each of 2 mains

Connected EDR load: 371 sf venting load: 2.95cfm vent capacity: 4.62cfm
    my NEW system pics | my OLD system pics
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,326