Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Anticipator setting?

Converted gravity system with large diameter cast iron pipes, cast iron radiators, 4 years into a Munchkin mod-con boiler with 925 control panel.  2 zones, main house and radiant floor for kitchen plus adjacent. No outdoor reset.   Thermostat is a White-Rodgers <span>1F97-371, a simple 7-day programmable (manual at </span><a href="http://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/common/ptech/thermo/90_Series_faq.htm#26">http://www.white-rodgers.com/wrdhom/common/ptech/thermo/90_Series_faq.htm#26</a>).

The house is warm, doing OK there, but the boiler short-cycles a bit, although I'm not a pro. The panel readout says 1,000 central heat hours, 27,500 passed ignition attempts, 35,300 total run time hours ( = almost exactly 4 years). Only 1,000 heat hours over 4 Iowa winters???  At any rate, 30 ignitions per hour sounds like short cycling to me (how many per hour is good?). I'm assuming it does not count the many many failed attempts when I was dealing with F09 issues last month.

I just learned that the thermostat has adjustable anticipation, range 0 to 40. The manual says "start at setting of 35 for hydronic" but it has been set at the factory default of 5 for the past 4 years now. I recently learned/corrected some installation mistakes made with the Munchkin, is this a mistake with the control settings on the thermostat?

Basic question is, any thoughts on an appropriate anticipation setting for the t-stat, and/or how do I figure out if I am at the right setting if I "start with 35" as suggested?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,161
    A higher anticipator

setting on this unit will lengthen the cycle time.  In fact, going from 5 to 35, it should lengthen it quite a bit.  How much?  Dunno.