Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler blow down?

Options
ansky
ansky Member Posts: 41
How do you blow

down the LWCO in a boiler? Is that even necessary to do?  I'm new to steam, and the only thing I was told to do weekly is open the valve at the bottom of the boiler and let the water drain until it runs clear.  Then I add more water to make it return to

the correct level.  So should I be doing this when the boiler is

firing?  I have always done it when the boiler was off. 

<a href="http://www.heatinghelp.com/forum-reply/1182932/How-do-you-blow-down-LWCO">Reply</a>

Comments

• Boiler Blow Down

You should blow down the LWCO when the boiler is firing. This should be done weekly. While the main idea is to clean out any accumulated dirt/rust etc. which might foul the float inside the cutoff, it also is a check to whether the LWCO is actually working. You should leave the blown down valve open until the water level drops and cuts off the burner.

If you're new to steam heating you want to get a book that is available on this site called "We Got Steam Heat" 

http://www.heatinghelp.com/products/Books/5/61/We-Got-Steam-Heat-A-Homeowners-Guide-to-Peaceful-Coexistence

It's written for the homeowner with a steam system. It's easy, humorous reading,crammed full of information and pictures on residential steam heating. In an evening or two of reading, you'll know a lot more about your steam system.  Blowing down the LWCO is discussed around page 130. (I can't tell you exactly as I recently gave away my copy to a neighbor and now need to get another one)

I might mention that is also very important to bring the new water in the boiler to the boil (make steam) as this drives off the excess dissolved oxygen in the water which can be very corrosive to your boiler.  - Rod
  • FJL
    FJL Member Posts: 354
    Options