Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

should I Switch from oil to gas

Options
Jimedean
Jimedean Member Posts: 3
I just bought a small 50 year old 2 family, a 1 bedroom over 2 with a basement. I am new to home ownership and heating systems. The House has the original coal boiler that was switched to oil with a steam system and I was considering converting to gas heat. I was told gas was cleaner and since I would be removing the oil tank , I would have more room to finish the basement for my kids which kinda is a priority. I was told oil heat was better for a steam heating system and that the new oil boilers run as clean as a gas system. Which is more efficient and makes my monthly costs go down . Do I want a hot water heater? National grid said I would save about $700 a year which would take about 10 years to offset the $8000.00 cost for a new gas sytem. A friend said " if it aint broke dont fix it" I dont know what to do. The house needs some upgrades (kitchen , bathroom, cement work ...more than I expected) so is it worth changing, upgrading or leave it alone???

Comments

• EricAune
    EricAune Member Posts: 432
    Options
    Could you use $700 a year from here on out?

If you have the means to invest now, then the payback will come and the savings will probably never stop.

I do not deal with oil in my area, therefor, I don't think I am qualified to compare the two systems.  I do know a little about ROI's and the lifelong savings benefits realized by more efficient systems.

Just a guess, a new gas system will most likely make a smaller footprint.  Leaving you more room for your basement.....just a thought.....no reason to spend a ton of money though.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,625
    Options
    A better investement