Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Is the boiler to small?

First of all I am no steam expert. I am a distributor and was asked to size some boilers in a retail / office building. It is nothing big but my contractor is questioning me. He removed 2 old large steam boilers that were supplying a loads of of yesteryears. The building has had many upgrades in efficiency. Some radiators were removed and replaced with Renni's.  I have sized the replacement boiler based on the load of the radiators that remain. The main they connected to was a 4" or 6" (cant remember).  They did not change the main vents or the radiator vents. They also didnt insulate the main. I do admit that I didnt allow quite 33% piping loss allowance but at 45 degrees outside it should heat the building if the steam can get to the radiators. Is it possible that the large main from the old system could be causing the steam to condensate way to fast? Its only traveling 35-40 feet. My thought are;

Insulating the mains

New main Vents

New radiator vents.

They want to keep raising the pressure.  The pressure does not come up in the boiler nor does the boiler shut off.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,169
    If...

the boiler is sized even close to the total EDR plus the pickup, you should be OK.  Is it that the system doesn't heat?  Doesn't heat evenly?  Or is someone just being worried?  The proof is in the pudding, as they say -- or in this case, in the radiators getting warm.  It isn't clear from your post as to whether you have a no heat problem or a worried contractor problem.