Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Kriebel Vapor vacuum systems

Options
Butch Hobby
Butch Hobby Member Posts: 1
I am a plumbing and heating salesman for a wholesale supply
in upstate NY. I have about 35 years in the business. Recently, one of my customers asked that I go look at a 2 pipe steam system in an big stone house. It seems that the problems that the homeowners were having were water hammer, mid-cycle; some radiators not heating; and controlling the water level in the boiler. Through out the years there have been several different contractors working at this house. The system is a Kriebel Vapor Vacuum
with a still hooked up vapor/vacuum controller and a system seperator in the basement. There are about 45 radiators on the next 2 floors. Most if not all of the radiator supply valves have been changed to DanFoss TRVs and most of the return ells are the baffler ells that were originally on the system. The Weil Mclain steam boiler has 2 pressuretrols and are set at 5lbs. My questions are as follows: 1) Shouldn't there be a vaporstat instead of pressuetrols ? 2)Are DanFoss TRVs supposed to work with this system? If so, do you change the baffler ells and if not where would someone buy the orifice supply valves and baffler ells that were original to the system ? Any help would be appreciated. Thank You.

Comments

• Steamhead (in transit)
    Steamhead (in transit) Member Posts: 6,688
    Options
    First, crank it down!

5 pounds is way too high for this system. It's probably causing water to stack up in the drips, and when the steam main starts to fill with water it will bang. The ones we work on run at a few ounces. Put on a Vaporstat.