Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler Modulation

Options
Hello Everyone,

I have reading the Wall for about three or four months now. I am a solar installer, but a year ago or so I partnered up with a radiant contractor friend of mine. I love installing hot water systems. And I am always trying to look into the "true" nature of how things work. I have never really accepted what the reps. say, though I will definately listen to their pitch, and like to look at things from a different angle. Just like what I read in one of Dan's archived articles from Plumbing and Mechanical that one of the best ways to troubleshoot a system is to look at if for yourself without hearing what someone else thinks it is. At least initially. I printed out every article that is archived and have almost read them all. That it alot of reading but worth it! Sorry for the rambling, here is the question. A while back there was a thread that talked about boiler turn-down. A gentleman stated that a certain manufacturer, maybe Viessman, only goes around 3.4:1 due to innadequate burner efficiency. Kind of like a bunch of pilot lights. So is it possible that the 10:1 ratios are correct, but the burning efficiencie are really poor? Is there a way to find this information out. I love reading everyone's thoughts on the subject, and would also love some sort of documentation. I am trying to learn everything possible. I feel as though the efficiencies are calculated in a lab of course, but do not always correspond to the real world. I will stop typing now so you can help me out on this. I met a few of you I think last year in Denver at Wetstock. That was a blast and hope to meet some of you in the future. I dream hydronics now and cannot wait to learn something new. Thanks in advance for all of your input and help.
Mr. Ugly

Comments

• Doug_7