Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

a few steam heat questions!

David Nadle
David Nadle Member Posts: 624
I'm not a pro, so please don't take any of this as the last word:

It looks like that boiler has two riser tappings on the top and only one is used. You should check the install manual for that model and make sure the manufacturer allows the option of using only one riser. The pigtail is wrong but if your pressuretrol is a new microswitch one and not an old mercury switch one it's not that big a deal. Insulating those pipes and as much of the mains as you can could help with the banging you mentioned.

On the vent, it looks like you *might* have the height for a #2 but not the clearance to spin it. What you could do is screw in a street elbow or a close nipple and regular elbow, then add a series of close nipples and tees to create 2 or three sites for mounting multiple #1s. You can plug the last tee or make the last tee an elbow.

Comments

• jackie_3
    jackie_3 Member Posts: 9
    steam heat and radiator questions. Please help!

Hi EVERYONE.

I have a few questions and I hoping someone can PLEASE PLEASE answer them for me before the heating season really kicks into gear:

1) Am I suppose to hear any noise coming from the steam mains? (hissing) if not, how do I know its working?

2) how long does it take for heat to reach the radiators on the first floor. Just installed a Burnham steam boiler and it took 2hrs to reach 68 degrees from 59 degrees on a cold start. 1st start of season yesterday. Is this normal?

3) The reason it im guessing it took so long is because the unit keeps cutting off at 1.5psi and will cut in again at .5 psi. From reading the forum, I was under the impression that this is the most optimal setting for the pressuretrol. If so, why does it keeps cutting off? Am I burning gas efficiently?