Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

wood boiler + storage reservoir questions

Rob Blair
Rob Blair Member Posts: 227
They are nice and would be glad to help you.

Rob

Comments

• Trevor_3
    Trevor_3 Member Posts: 3
    new wood boiler + heat reservoir questions

Hello all--

this is my first time here

I live in Vermont in an 1830 farmhouse. I've always been a DIY-er, and have heated with wood (with an 1910 technology hot air furnace) for 11 years. But the wood-hot air is an all-or-nothing proposition- meaning that my Thermopride oil burner kicks on in the dark of night and while I am off at the day job, and with oil prices doing what they are, heat costs are going to outstrip my mortgage and drive me to who knows where.

I have access to 50+ acres of wood that I can cut for no cost. So-- I've ordered an Econoburn 150 gasifier wood boiler (www.alternativefuelboilers.com). My plan is to install it with as large a "heat storage reservoir" as possible, to basically run the boiler full-tilt periodically, then draw out of the storage as-needed to heat the house while I am asleep or away.

Having ordered the boiler, my next challenge turns to the thermal storage reservoir (basically a large water tank). Bigger is better in this category, as in anything under 500 gallons is a waste of effort, and 750-1000+ is good. If I can plumb the storage in a direct loop with the boiler, with no intervening heat exchangers, it'll be far simpler all around (I am a BIG fan of Dan H's notations of how the "dead men" did some remarkably sophisticated things in deceptively simple ways. But I also gather from the research I have done so far that modern hydronics with any steel components rely on a closed/ pressurized system in order to avoid corrosion of the ferrous parts of the system.