Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Backflow prevention

I cited is the NYS residential code and the backflow preventer must comply with ASSE 1012.

I didn't get a clear shot at the product serial number. Its compliance with ASSE 1012 is what I wanted to look up. I'm a lousy photographer.

Thanks for your reply.

Arlene

<A HREF="http://www.heatinghelp.com/getListed.cfm?id=316&Step=30">To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"</A>

Comments

• October Home
    October Home Member Posts: 75
    Is this correct?

I cited this set-up because there wasn't a backflow prevention device between the potable water and the boiler water.

And I cited this NYS Code:
    Residential Code of New York State
    Part VII - Plumbing
    Chapter RP29 Water Supply and Distribution
    §RP2902 Protection of Potable Water Supply
    §RP2902.4.1 Connections to boilers. The potable supply to the boiler shall be equipped with a backflow preventer with an intermediate atmospheric vent complying with ASSE 1012.

The homeowner said that the pressure reducing valve acts as a backflow preventer. I took a photo of the thing so that I could look up its specs but the photo was blurry.

Can you help? Is the reducing valve an adequate backflow prevention device?

Thank you and Happy New Year.

Arlene

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Professional"
  • don_156
    don_156 Member Posts: 87
    No

That is a pressure reducing valve.All tho I think he might be correct that is does act like a checkvalve.

I've seen bfp piped after the prv and they do their job.And
    then I've seen them pipe before the prv and they dont do their job.

The point is he made be right however, its not code and will not pass in my area without a bfp.
  • Dave_4