Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Dielectric fittings in Hydronics copper to black

YvonneB
YvonneB Member Posts: 14
I am presented with my newest "promotion" to outside sales for a local Wholesaler.  This question was posed to me today.. again.  Before my wholesale career I was an installer for 20 years.  I never used dielectric unions in a closed loop system with the proper tubing installed.  Does anyone "Dan" have anything in writing!!!!

I have a large customer that has a new employee who was taught like me and is trying save the company lots of $$$ on a project.  All I have to do is show it to them in writing of an official document or training book!!

All help is appreciated! <a href="http://www.heatinghelp.com/forum-reply/1312417/Does-anyone-have-anything-in-writing">Reply</a> <a href="http://www.heatinghelp.com/forum-edit-post/1312417/Does-anyone-have-anything-in-writing">Edit</a>

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,366
    Code

It may depend on the code that your jurisdiction has adopted. Our state uses the "international" code and it requires them. I'd recommend you contact your local inspector and ask for the code reference.

Personally, I try to avoid them and use yellow brass instead which the code allows. I've never had a problem with brass, but I've seen and heard of many issues with dielectric unions.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
  • DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,512
    I've never heard of a problem within a closed system.

But then if the code says to install paper pipes, paper pipes are what should be installed. 
    Retired and loving it.
  • YvonneB
    Thanks Dan