Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

3 Pressuretrols ??

Hello,

Newbie here, illustrious new President of the Board, trying to understand the steam system in a 25-unit co-op in Toronto, ON, dating from 1925.

We have a Weil McLain 1280 boiler, tended by an honest-to-pete Engineer. The only trouble is, he's a wind-tunnel engineer, not a steam engineer. He's got us running at 7 to 9 psig, because "some of the top floor rad's are cold". I've read Dan's Lost Art book, and a lot of other resources, and I know we can do better than swelter in January and pay through the nose all winter.

I am convinced that 90% of our traps are bad, and I know for sure that a lot of Danfoss thermostats have failed, or are the wrong type for the enclosed cabinets, and/or have been installed in the wrong orientation (vertically, above the supply pipe). Mr. Wind Tunnels is keen and generous, but I am not confident in his work.

I'm trying to understand the controls on the boiler, and I'm confused. There's three Pressuretrols. One, with a mercury switch, is obviously the safety, set for higher pressure. But there's two others, set for different pressures, that both connect to the same gas-burner controller. What's going on here?? Please see attached photos. Pressuretrol #1 is set around 5 psig (I've been cranking it down from the 7-9 range); Pressuretrol #2 is set much lower; Pressuretrol #3 is the safety, set at 12.5 psig. All three controls connect electrically to the gas-burner control. What's the purpose of #2, and why is it set so much lower than #1?