Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Kinks in soft copper

But also weakens it...alas my son, I have kinked many a line set in my day...Dad made my brother and I pay for it out of our paychecks, you learn faster that way! Before pre-insulated lines came to the market, we would have to slide the Armaflex on the suction line...first time I did it, I did NOT cover the open end of the pipe, consequently skinning shards of insulation INTO the pipe! This really caused some serious issues upon startup! Dad made me pay for that one too!...God Bless all of the DEAD MEN!

Comments

• PeterGriffin
    PeterGriffin Member Posts: 79
    Friction?

I'm a plumbing apprentice and I'm starting to install the linesets for air conditioning. I've been told not to kink the copper and that's fine, but I haven't got a good explanation why. The best I can come up with on my own is that the kink would create friction causing the temperature to slightly rise ? Any good?

Thanks,

Rankin
  • jim lockard
    jim lockard Member Posts: 1,059
    Rankin

Next time you are washing your car or watering the garden put a kink in the hose. The same thing that happens with your garden hose is what happens when you kink a refrigerant line.
    Hopefully your employer is taking the time to teach you the proper way to handle refrigerant copper. Best Wishes J.Lockard
  • Brad White_9
    Brad White_9 Member Posts: 2,440
    Take a piece of scrap copper tubing...

Scrap??? OK, take a breath. This is science...