Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lamp Wick for Sealing Threads

Brad White_44
Brad White_44 Member Posts: 27
Thanks for the journey. What you said about thread taper makes sense and wish I had realized that on my Monitor MZ. I had to disassemble and reassemble the threads three times to get them to seat. Used gas-grade teflon and Blue Magic before it "took". The DWH cold water connection at the bottom of the DHWH was in a word, ugly. Took a lot to disconnect it all (All four top connections) because the CW bottom inlet did not leak until a week into service.

Wish I knew then what I am just learning now...

Best,

Brad

Comments

• Brad White_43
    Brad White_43 Member Posts: 26
    Lamp Wick Question

Basic question gang: I have finally gone out and bought a roll of lamp wick, to me an old-timey material that is seeing a resurgence thanks to recent posting on The Wall.

The fact that Patty at the supply house knew what I was asking for was reassuring.

Dumb-A-- question when using it: Full width of strand or do you peel it open and use a thinner strand for threads? Does it depend on size? I am talking 3/4" to 1-1/4" only here. At first it seems too thick to use.

I was planning on using Blue Magic or Rectorseal (what I have kicking around), brushing on male threads then embedding the lamp wick "uphill" in the threads. This is all for low temperature hot water by the way, not steam.

TIA!

Brad
  • Adam_21
    Adam_21 Member Posts: 3

Gauze bandage works fine , I usually apply it in the order dope ,t tape ,dope , gauze bandage .
  • bob young
    bob young Member Posts: 2,177
    quick wick