Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Cleaning oil burners

Ken C.
Ken C. Member Posts: 267
I'm new to the oil heat trade. I'm working with an experienced technician who is training me to do annual boiler cleanings/burner servicing/combustion testing. I've done about 10 cleanings, and I always seem to get some oil on the floor when I pull the nozzle assembly or during bleeding. Other than using Speedi Dri, what system/methods do you use? One idea I'm considering is getting a large cookie sheet. The shallow pan would easily fit under most burners to catch any drips, and it would also be large enough to provide a good work space to disassemble and clean nozzle assemblies. I've been spreading rags on the floor for cleanings, but this uses up an awful lot of rags. What do you think of the cookie sheet idea? Any other ideas?

Comments

• Biged
    Biged Member Posts: 117
    OIL Burner Clean Outs

Welcome to the trade,first forget ever being clean while working ever again or not smelling like oil. well.... not quite,to stay clean you can wear a coverall or tyvek and always use rubber gloves to keep your hands clean espeacially if you're married. buy a drop cloth similar to what the painters use to cover the floor around the boiler so that whatever soot ect. from smoke pipe and boiler gets collected on the cloth. when you remove the nozzle assemble put your thumb over the end of the assemble to prevent oil from draining all over you and yes you can use one of those cookie pan or whatever it takes to keep most of the oil off the floor. get a can of odor gone powder and spray for leaving a nice smelling fragrance. remember leave the basement cleaner than you found it! have fun.
  • Ken D.
    Ken D. Member Posts: 836
    Mess