Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Contractor causes Housing Auth Dilema

Hal
Hal Member Posts: 55
Sounds like your 'student' has graduated!
You must be very proud.

Comments

• Jim Davis
    Jim Davis Member Posts: 305
    Great Job!

Just got a call from one of my students that has been doing all the work for a housing authority in the Boston area. Because he has saved them over $400,000 in fuel and cut their maintenance costs drastically, they now have $2.4 million left over in their budget that needs to be spent. They wanted his recommendation on what to spend it on. Well they have this high-rise, that is all-electric and now it is going to get converted to gas and he has the job.
  • Mad Dog
    Mad Dog Member Posts: 2,595
    Damn! JD...I'm glad I'm studying with you again

in MARCH. mAd Dog

To Learn More About This Professional, Click Here to Visit Their Ad in "Find A Contractor"
  • Wardner
    Wardner Member Posts: 20
    Mass contracts

I don't believe your info is correct. Change orders on existing contracts of this scope cannot be written in Massachusetts. This applies to the design contract as well as the separate construction contract. If solicitations were published this week for a design contract, it would probably take at least a year before the Authority could RFQ the construction contract.

On top of that, capital expenditures are handled differently from operating expenses. They are not comingled. Budgets for capital improvements are prepared several years in advance.

I am guessing that your "pupil" was asked to submit an informal estimate on the conversion so that the Authority could get a heads-up on preparing their budgets. This happens all the time particularly when the owner does not have an engineering staff.
  • Jim Davis
    Jim Davis Member Posts: 305