Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiant Heat Piping - Have you seen this pipe?

I am a home inspector in the Washington, DC area. During a recent inspection I came across a radiant heating system the utilized a piping material/brand I had not seen before. The piping a thin walled opaque plastic material with no visible rating stamped on it. The label on the pipe is " 3/4" THE SOLAR OPTION ONE CO. HYDRONIC HEAT EXCHANGER TUBING" without any other ratings. Has anyone seen this stuff, should it be used on a pressurized system, up to about 25 psi. with working temperature between 150 and 170 degrees? The attached photos will show the system set-up. Thanks for the information.

Comments

• DanHolohan
    DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,513
    I'm helping Chip post the photos of the pipe

Does anyone recognize this product?
    Retired and loving it.
  • Chris Maderia
    Chris Maderia Member Posts: 120
    Radiant Heat Pipe

Have not seen nor heard of it in the last 15 years. It would seem that it has no oxygen barrier so tere better be a heat exchanger and non ferrous material. And if it is a PEX it must be rated to ASTM Spec F876/877.
  • Mark Eatherton1
    Mark Eatherton1 Member Posts: 2,542
    Internet detective work...

I did a Google search on Solar Option One, and the name Bob Starr kept popping up. One artilce in particular mentioned him at http://www.blume.com/Company History.htm

Further searching using the name Bob Starr produced the name Radiantec, which we in the industry are quite familiar with. Looks like Radiantec was Solar Option One out of Vermont prior to becoming the online distributor we've all come to know and love...