Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

making manifolds

chris smith
chris smith Member Posts: 39
hi all,

i see some of you are making your own manifolds[copper] and i would like to know what you use for tool, i see yellow jacket and rothenburger have what they call tee pullers and mag tool has what they call a flow drill, i would like to purchase one of thease rigs for an up coming job and would like your impression of thease tools and what you use.

chris smith
porter maine
ps. see a bunch of you in november

Comments

• kevin_5
    kevin_5 Member Posts: 308
    Manifold fixin's

Hi Chris, I'm new to this tool, but I've got quite a bit of experience with it already.

As far as I can tell from my web surfing, Yellow jacket gets their tools from Rothenberger. It's made in Germany, and very quality, very simple. They don't send any type of owner's manual but all you do is drill hole with included bit, install threaded hook tool in hole, and when you back out the hook, it enlarges the hole and pulls a lip up around the edge. I use an electric drill for both operations. It's a whole lot faster than the ratchet they send along in the kit for the second operation.

It costs around $600 and took 6 weeks for it to come from Germany on a boat. Why they couldn't airmail it is beyond me, but if Rothenberger USA doesn't have them in stock youy'll probobly be waiting a while.

If you're using brass fittings, silver soldering is very very tricky. I had about two hundred fittings to install ina couple jobs, and I opted to solft solder them in. I figured vibration isn't a factor with pex attached to them.