Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Zone Valves wont automatically...Help greatly appreciated

Options
ebrady07
ebrady07 Member Posts: 10

So I am dealing with a Tarm furnace from 1987. My dad has been having some memory issues and decided he needed to replace most of the motors on the zone valves. In the process he screwed up all the wiring. I followed a wiring guide I found online and at least got the pump working for the forced water baseboards but none of the valves are turning on or off via the thermostats...you have to manually open and close them. Luckily temps in Ohio are not too cold but that won't last long. I tried using a multimeter to figure out the hot lines but I'm really not a expert at this. The wire with the blue tape goes to the aquastat. If any heating genius out there could please take a look at my wiring attempt and tell me what I am not doing right I would REALLLLLYY appreciate it...so would my mom. Thanks

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,639
    Options
    There are a lot of different ways to wire these depending on how they are powered.

Where do the zone valves get their power? Where do the end switches connect on the boiler?
  • ebrady07
    Options
    That is one of my main questions too...there are just the wires coming down that are taped to the pipes...they look just like all the other wires but a couple definitely have more juice to them than the others. Whoever put this together really didn't care about labeling anything. I followed the diagram on the hot wire I found with the multimeter and put it where I think it should go but I'm not sure if there is one that comes on the left side too.
  • ebrady07
    edited November 2022
    Options