Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Clicking Noise above boiler pump

boilernoob
boilernoob Member Posts: 5
edited October 2022 in Radiant Heating
Hi everyone, firstly I am new to hydronic heating and plumbing in general so please be patient. Also I hope I am putting this in the right place. Thanks.

I am getting an intermittent clicking/rattling noise from a brass fitting I am assuming is some kind of check above the circulation pump. Its new and fairly loud noise. My best guess it is this brass piece from doing the old wood stick hearing aid, the noise is much louder in the area above the pump. I would like to know what is going on and if there any actions that I need to take before it gets too cold. I have attached a photo with an arrow pointing to the suspect fitting. I cant really get any info off it except wog300 1-1/4. Also there is no noise when the hot water tank is on and the circulation pump is off. Also the entire system was just replaced and re-piped about 18 months ago. Thanks for any and all your time. - J
Edit - added pics

Comments

• boilernoob
    Forgot the photo
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    edited October 2022
    That appears to be a check valve. That is not the type of check valve we usually use for Hydronic heating systems. They can be noisy. You might want to see if you can use one of these:
    There is no spring involved on these devices, so less noise. However they must be installed on the horizontal so gravity can operate the weighted check valve.

On page 8 of this book https://www.xylem.com/siteassets/brand/bell-amp-gossett/resources/technical-brochure/fh-z100b-bg-zoning-made-easy-2.pdf you will find an explanation of the purpose of these valves and how they operate.