Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Pre-heating season maintenance?

bipbap
bipbap Member Posts: 191
I waited a little long and can’t get a steam guy out to look over my boiler before the weather turns cold.

For many years my Dad just flipped the switch and that was it but I’ve been trying to be more attentive to it.

It’s a single pipe gas steam system, a approx 25 year old Weil McLain boiler serving a 4-apartment building. Tags says total gross output is 360,000 BTU.

What kinds of things can a total novice do to make sure things will run well?

One buddy of mine said he always drains his boiler empty and refills it. Is that needed or good to do?

I still plan to get the heating guy out as soon as he’s free to look over everything but I  just got to get the heat going in the meantime as the weather dips this week.

Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,476
    edited October 2022

Do you know if the boiler has been flushed in the past few years and does the water in the sight glass look dirty? Flushing every few years should lessen the buildup of crud in the boiler, before emptying the boiler overfill it (till you feet the boiler steam pipe turn cold) and leave it like that for several hours to check for leaks. Turn the boiler on and let it run while emptying, the low water cut off should stop the boiler when the sight glass is about to empty. If it doesn't that LWCO may be faulty and that can be very dangerous - it has to be serviced immediately for the safety of all involved and the preservation of your wallet.