Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Building a small district heat system - input on pipe sizing

Greetings, HeatingHelp forum!

Newbie here. I've eaten at multiple Taco Tuesdays, had coffee with Caleffi in two languages, and read threads from as far back as possible on this forum. I'd like to give a huge thanks to everybody who posts in the radiant heating section, from the people asking questions to the experts and legends answering them. Unbeknownst to you, your question or answer gave me something else to learn. :smile:

2 years ago I moved to a property that has an existing hydronic heat setup. The setup was based around an outdoor wood furnace that heated two existing buildings. It had an extremely rough life, burning sawdust, wet wood and garbage @ 120*F water temp for most of its life. I decided to get rid of the wood furnace, and replace it with a mini district heating setup based around a natural gas boiler (kind of like this article on PM Mag). Here's a sketch:

The boiler shed is a building that will be built, red shed is an existing building without heat that I'm adding to the network in the future.

The insulated underground pipe going between boiler shed and house already exists: its LogStor with dual 3/4" lines! The line between boiler shed and the shop did exist, but it was a home made foam-in-trench solution that was definitely soaked with water. I ripped that out as well and will be replacing it with LogStor.

I did a heat loss calculation:

- House basement: 1000 ft^2 - 15,194 BTU/h - 15 BTU/h-ft^2. Concrete slab, embedded 1/2" PEX-AL-PEX
- House upstairs: 1000 ft^2 - 17,317 BTU/h - 17 BTU/h-ft^2. Staple up 1/2" PEX-AL-PEX

- Shop main floor: 1580 ft^2 - 33,008 BTU/h - 21 BTU/h-ft^2. Concrete slab, embedded 1/2" PEX-AL-PEX