Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hot water baseboard installation

Halbert
Halbert Member Posts: 15
The house was built in 2 sections, one in the 1930's, with an addition in the 80's. I've lived in it for 3 years. Hot water baseboard heat. The way the baseboards are installed, there is a (I think) 3/4 inch header running around the basement walls, and the heater units are connected by tee's to the header, rather than the header turning up to the heaters and back down.

Why? The only logical reason I have would be to have warmer water feeding the last heater in the circuit--but it has the downside of less available flow to the heater units.

Is there any advantage to be gained by repiping the system to put all the heaters on a continuous line rather than off this header? (I think so, but I'm no expert).

Comments

• GGross
    GGross Member Posts: 1,022
    it sounds like you have a monoflow system, it should be just fine, and if there are valves of some kind hidden by each baseboard branch it gives the benefit of being able to close off a single baseboard section if need be. Series loop (where your header flows through each section of baseboard) is more common now, mainly just because its cheaper to install
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    edited April 2022
    You may find this booklet interesting. http://media.blueridgecompany.com/documents/ZoningMadeEasy.pdf
    the Mono-Flo system is explained starting on page 21. Just after explaining why non electric zone valves don't work very well on this type system. (the generic term for those tee fittings is "Diverter Tee". Bell and Gossett trademarked that name "Mono-Flo"