Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Riello locks out after 2 seconds

Davidhogg
Davidhogg Member Posts: 3
Hi everyone newbie here but competent diy er.... Have a camray3 with riello burner ran out of oil and locked out, filled up and purged ran fine, then wouldn't start, reset lockout and a small amount of smoke came from the control box (acrid smelling) ordered a new 530se fitted it, hit the reset and again a puff of smoke??? Wont reset, stripped burner, motor was quite hard to turn started to seize so I replaced with new genuine part, oil pump rotates easily also, reassembled and all rotates nicely, tried the reset with the new 530se that smoked a little and it runs the motor for two seconds and locks out, any ideas please??? , should i get another new 530se controller and try again. Many thanks David

Comments

• pell
    pell Member Posts: 22
    Unfortunately it seems like the controller was shorted out by the motor, though I haven't seen it happen. Did you check to see if the cap is OK. That could be causing a short. There as you know a lot of wires, contacts in that control area. Check your L1 and L2, there are 3 places for the wires to connect to the burner, if the middle one is used it's a smoke show according to my riello factory training.
    Davidhogg
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    There’s better ways to check a Riello burner than firing the parts cannon at it.
    You can check components and wiring without the control box installed, with a meter.
    steve
    Davidhogg
  • Davidhogg