Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Noobie question on a Taco SR501-4

jenbury
jenbury Member Posts: 10
Hi, I am new to troubleshooting my 1957 American Standard Boiler system, but what the heck, gotta start somewhere. Woke up to no heat Sunday and traced it back to a blown 6a fuse in my SR501-4 Relay. Replaced it, the boiler made the good "let's turn on" noises for a second, then it blew again. From the wiring diagram it looks like the next step is to troubleshoot the circulator, but I have no idea how to do this and what to do next. Anyone care to walk me through this? Maybe I can do this faster than it takes for my HVAC guy to make time for me... appreciate any help
!

Comments

• rick in Alaska
    rick in Alaska Member Posts: 1,457
    The quickest way would be to unwire the circulation pump from the control, replace the fuse, and start it up again. If the fuse does not blow, then it is either the pump or the wiring going to it. If the wiring looks good, then you will have to replace the pump. (p.s. make sure all the electrical connections are tight before you do anything. If you have a loose wire connection, it could cause this.)
    If you have the equipment and the ability, then you can do a resistance check on the pump and see if it is shorted out.
    Rick
  • jenbury
    Good starting point - exactly what I needed, thanks. To check the pump, I assume you mean the Ohm reading with a multimeter?
  • rick in Alaska
    Yes, use a multimeter. I am not sure of the proper reading, but I would mostly be checking for a direct short. Generally when I have a pump go out, they just don't work. I have never had a fuse blow in one of those control boxes before, so this is new to me also.
    Rick
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    @jenbury