Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lenox G26 - Primary/Secondary limit switch open

tws
tws Member Posts: 5
My furnace will run between a few hours to a few days but eventually, it'll stop working. The LEDs indicate it's a limit switch. I've changed out the filters and taken off the squirrel cage fan on the front and shook out some dust but it wasn't what I'd consider dirty (looked like a dirt-dobber next fell in from the exhaust pipe). See pics. Not sure what next steps are? I've never worked on a furnace before.

https://www.amazon.com/photos/shared/qxd2AROzRoerrL078VscKw.cPTOeZciXy3h_861L85gKr

Comments

• tws
    bump. Any help? Thanks!
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    You need to check the flue pipe from the furnace all the way up thru the roof.
    If flue gases are slowed down for any reason, the furnace can overheat and lock out.

Or if you put a very restrictive high Merv rated filter in, it could cut down on the air flow enough to trip hi limit.....happens more than most imagine.
    tws
  • tws
    Ok, I finally had time to get up on the roof and thread a spinning brush down the pipe. Made it all the way through and only a bit of fine dust came out, so the pipe is clear. I have a MERV 5 filter in it, when I remove the filter it seems to fix the issue. Is it possible that a MERV 5 is too restrictive? If so, what kind of filter do I need? I picked up some cheap fiberglass MERV 2 filters from Home Depot, I guess I'll see if those do the trick.
  • wmgeorge
    wmgeorge Member Posts: 222
    If you have AC my guess is the A coil on the furnace is packed full of dirt on the air entering side.
    Old retired Commercial HVAC/R guy in Iowa. Master electrician.
  • mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,574