Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Condensate Return Pump: Post Installation Questions

redplumber
redplumber Member Posts: 7
edited October 2021 in THE MAIN WALL
First of all, I'd like to thank everyone on this forum!

Just a little history: not by my choice, I took over the maintenance of a 100 year old apartment building. I've been learning about everything in the trades, especially plumbing (that's where most of my issues lie). In researching steam heating, I ran across Dan Holohan and I purchased his book: The Lost Art of Steam Heating Revisited. I am no expert, but I am striving to learn as much as I can!

There is a Peerless 211A-08-S-I (1470000 BTU input) boiler that heats the property. It was installed within the last 4 years or so. It's basically "new".

There are 2 condensate return lines with 1 pump on each line (2 pumps total). One is on the north side of the building and one is on the south.

This post is about the one that is on the south side. It is a 1" black steel line that dips underground and runs under 2 apartments and 1 hallway (a public hall open to all residents).

I just replaced the pump that had a tag so old, I could only make out the model because it was stamped on: WC 8 20.

I went to the plumbing supply store, showed them the pictures, and they sold me a hoffman WCS-8-20-B, which they had in stock. I inquired about steel vs. cast iron, but they said that cast iron would require a special order. I opted for getting something now and not having to wait.

Even though the unit is the same model but in steel, the motor is in a different location and the pit was barely large enough to fit everything.

Some details about the installation:

- I used 2" - 1" bushings to reduce the inlet so that I would have enough room.
- I added a watts wye 1" strainer (I believe it's model LF777SI)