Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

1/2” baseboard to 3/4”

mjfragano
mjfragano Member Posts: 1
I bought my house 2 years ago and all my baseboard heat is 1/2” fin tube. I will be gutting my basement and will be able to change the basement and first floor to 3/4” very easily. Yes my house gets warm in the winter but on really cold days it takes awhile to get warm. Also who ever installed it originally made the pipes too tight so when the pipes expand you hear them creak and the baseboards make a popping noise. My plan is to run all supply and return lines in the oxygen barrier pex and in between the rooms where I can 3/4” copper. Do you think we will notice a difference switching from 1/2”-3/4”?  Or is it a waste of money?  Thank you. Btw I’m not a plumber I’m an electrician but I am a extreme DIY guy and can do more than most. 

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,720
    You will want to look at this booklet. http://media.blueridgecompany.com/documents/ZoningMadeEasy.pdf
    There is a great explanation in the first few pages that will answer your question more thoroughly than a simple Yes or No.

Bottom line is: the smallest diameter on any given loop will determine the flow rate on the water in that loop. If you are going to change the 1/2" copper elements in all the baseboards, then you may see a difference with 3/4" Baseboards and 3/4" PEX If you only change the PEX feeder to 3/4" but leave the 1/2" element in the loop, then you will see no difference.

Pipe diameter will determine the heating capacity of the circuit (or loop).

Yours truly,
    Mr.ED

Edward F Young. Retired HVAC ContractorSpecialized in Residential Oil Burner and Hydronics
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    @mjfragano