Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

indirect water heater replacement - project scope

lemesi
lemesi Member Posts: 26
edited December 2020 in Domestic Hot Water
Hi all,
I'm a complete amateur, aside from browsing these forums over the past few months and talking to various plumbers in the course of getting estimates.

I currently have a Weil-McLain WGO-3 boiler (10 years old) and a 41-gallon Amtrol Boiler Mate WH-7P (I forget how old, but significantly older than the boiler). The Boiler Mate is producing somewhat less hot water than it used to and a technician believes it to be nearing the end of its life. Therefore, we have decided to replace it pro-actively. I am obsessive about things like this and I value maximum efficiency even if that comes at a price. Since I have the luxury of my current system still working, I am taking some time to do things right.

I don't exactly know the history (was my grandparents' house), but my current setup seems to be plumbed a bit unconventionally based on what I've seen here on these forums, and it is certainly less beautiful than some of what I see here. In particular, the water heater is plumbed into what appears to be a drain valve at the bottom of the boiler. But this setup has been trouble-free for the past few years of living here.

In the spirit of getting the best, I have decided on a 53-gallon Viessmann 300-V as a replacement. It looks like our boiler should be sufficient for this, though the piping needs to be upgraded to 1". I understand that Viessmann is expensive and fully expected to spend a few thousand dollars to get it done right.

However, I recently got a quote from another guy who is very focused on doing things right. He is offended at the current plumbing and he wants to expand the project scope to include: