Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help updating radiant heat system.

seanbeck1
seanbeck1 Member Posts: 19
Hi guys. New to this forum and I’m looking for some expert advice regarding the adjustment of my current radiant heat setup. I’m a licensed plumber/gas fitter but I work all ICI so I have decent knowledge or radiant heat systems but not as vast as the experts here.

I currently have a Slant Fin gas boiler supplying cast iron radiators via 2” main heating lines in my basement. The system is zoned with zone valves and a single circulating pump.

Zone 1 - Basement (2 Rads)
Zone 2 - Main floor and second floor

I want to split zone 2 which will give me three zones and isolate each floor individually. Im going to be pulling down my basement ceiling to give me access to the risers feeding the rads on the main floor and second floor. I will be removing the 2” steel pipes and running Uponor from my risers to where my boiler is located.

I’m hoping guys can offer me advice on some components. I plan to add a low loss header so I’ll need advice on sizing my boiler pump and radiant pump. Also looking for advice on whether I should use zone valves only or zone valves with manifolds feeding each rad individually so I can monitor flow rate.

Boiler - 100K BTU

Basement Rads -
One steel low profile
One custom copper radiator

Main Floor Rads-
4 Cast iron

Second Floor Rads
4 Cast Iron Rads

Comments

• EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,713
    edited May 2020
    Review this text. http://media.blueridgecompany.com/documents/ZoningMadeEasy.pdf

Everything you need to know is in here. B&G parts are listed since they paid to publish, but you can substitute Taco or Armstrong or any other brand