Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hoffman H style Float and thermostatic trap at a brewery

scottnjr
scottnjr Member Posts: 60
Hi all,
I am a mostly residential hvac tech. Therefore I don't have much experience with f&t traps, but I understand how they work. My friend owns a brewery, so naturally I volunteered to solve a problem since it involved free craft beer. He has a steam boiler with pumped return. The vent from the condensate pump started spewing steam. I said "sounds like a trap stuck open or bad." So I narrowed it down to 3 possible traps, all Hoffman H type the were trapping mains. We ordered one and replaced the one that was spewing. I probably screwed things up though by removing the guts of the new one and replacing the old while leaving the old body in place. I started it up and at first all looked good, then after 30 minutes or so the vent went to spewing again. I cracked the union on the outlet of the three traps, the other two were quiet and dripping a little condensate, and the new one was spewing steam. Is the new steam trap bad, or did I cause the float valve to hang open by replacing the guts like I did? is there any trick I should know? I'm going back tomorrow to disassemble it and look. I'm guessing it's the float hung up and not the brand new thermostatic trap. Any advice?

Comments

• Big Ed_4
    Big Ed_4 Member Posts: 2,761
    I don't know if I want to tell you ? Are we getting some of that free beer ?
    I have enough experience to know , that I dont know it all
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,452
    @scottnjr

Sounds like you did the right thing. It's common to buy new parts and leave the old trap body in place.

Did you replace the valve seat? If not that could be the problem. No trick to it just replace parts and make sure the assembly is relitively clean