Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Choosing a boiler

Redduc97
Redduc97 Member Posts: 15
Does anyone have any experience with Noritz boilers. I was looking at the CB-180 which is a combi unit.
I was also looking at an HTP UFT-80 and an indirect water heater. I'm not sure of the best way to go.

Comments

• I had a customer request a Noritz combi, but I have no first-hand experience with them. I'd like to know more about them myself.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • BillyO
    BillyO Member Posts: 277
    stay away from HTP, nothing but a headache
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    Redduc97 said:

Does anyone have any experience with Noritz boilers. I was looking at the CB-180 which is a combi unit.
    I was also looking at an HTP UFT-80 and an indirect water heater. I'm not sure of the best way to go.

It really comes down to how much hot water you want or need. Even the smallest Combi will produce 2 gpm or more depending on the temperature lift. Most rate them at a 70- 77° lift.

Combi's usually have a means to derate them when it is in heating mode. I have a Lochinvar Nobel 120 locked at 30% firing for the heat, full output for Nobel as the DHW load needs the 100K firing rate for the endless hw it provides.

If you have a large tub for example and want a fast fill a tank may be better.

If you run multiple dhw loads at the same time a tank may be better.

Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • NoritzAmerica
    NoritzAmerica Member Posts: 1
    Redduc97 said:

Hello! Our Noritz CB Series of combination boilers are a great choice if you're looking for hot water and heating for your home:
    - Capable of producing up to 4.5 GPM @ 77°F temperature rise.