Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help bleeding system

Hello, recently my boiler has had trouble keeping up with the cold temperatures. I believe there is air in the lines. I have to admit im an electrician by trade so im not so sure about this plumbing stuff. What would be the correct steps for bleeding my system? Thanks in advance for any help.

https://imgur.com/a/wtA5QUA

Comments

• Wellness
    Wellness Member Posts: 138
    edited February 2020
    It doesn't look like you have any shutoff valves to isolate water in your three zones. Do your radiators have any bleeders on them? The ideal setup would be to have drain cocks above each supply pump and a shufoff valve on the return and then you could force higher pressure water through each zone until the air was out, then, fill up the rest of the system.
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    edited February 2020
    @Wellness Did you look at both pictures?
    This is an easy purge, on a very nice 'pumping away' set up. Shut off power to the circulators and the unit (leave those isolation valves open). Close the valve marked 'Main'. Close the 3 return zone shut off valves (1, 2, 3)
    Hook a hose up to the hose bib drain, run it over to a laundry sink and stick it in a bucket (in the sink), secure with spring clamp.
    Feed and maintain about 20 psi in the boiler while you bleed.
    Open one valve on the return zone, open the drain, maintain feeding and 20 psi, watch bucket fill and overflow, keep going until all bubbles are gone.
    Quickly and simultaneously, close drain, and stop feeding (maintain pressure).
    Close the valve for that zone, repeat for the next 2, one at a time.

When you're done, open all for ball valves (3 zone, and ball valve on return (main).