Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

wiring help

Options
claptonv
claptonv Member Posts: 10
Im trying to wire a single zone Taco 501-4 to oil fired HW boiler which has a White Rodgers 11c1511,for an indirect water heater . Im removing the tankless coil and was thinking about turning down the low limit and having cold start but wiring is not my strong suit , Im a hi rise plumber and trying to help out my niece save some money > can anyone help me here ?

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,523
    Options
    not having seen it or knowing everything you have..........................

1. Cold start. Disconnect the WR 11C1511. Wire the temperature control on the indirect to where the where rogers was wired to.

Are you adding a circulator or a zone valve for the indirect?

If it's one zone for heat you can go with the existing circulator and add 2 zone valves 1 for heat and 1 for indirect.

OR

add a circulator for the indirect only and use the existing circ for heat. Adding a circ is probably better. What indirect are you using?

Need more info
  • claptonv
    Options
    Im using circulator and the are two heat zones . I have never heard of this brand but it came with the honeywell aquastat which Im guessing is going to be my thermostat but getting the boiler to fire is where Im not so sure
  • claptonv
    Options
    power to the taco relay should come from where Im not sure , 120 v out to circ and zc & zr to the oil burner i get in the alternate wiring diagram but i want to leave the white rodgers ther for the hi limit so will i use the two wires from new aquastat to the tt at the taco control ?
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,523
    Options
    Does the Taco relay exist originally or you putting one in??

Maybe you can post a few pictures so we can see what you have.