Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Hydronic system - loud manifold clanging when actuators turn on / off

Midnight
Midnight Member Posts: 4
Hi all, I'll start with the disclaimer - I am a total layman but have spent the last couple of hours learning about hydronic heating systems as the technicians my landlord has had in to deal with this system cannot be relied upon..

In summary, for some inexplicable reason, the zone control panel was installed in our master bedroom, and makes an extremely loud clanging, banging, and clicking sound that lasts 15-30 seconds when heating zones come on and off. Sometimes these are mild but at other times it can be heard across the suite and sounds like the walls are about to explode.

Finally, my landlord had someone in to look at the problem and tried to mitigate it by bleeding the system of air (in theory), but this sound is still happening (albeit possibly milder).

Here is what I discovered when trying to diagnose the problem myself:

• One of the actuators was left completely uninstalled (I reinstalled it), which explains why our bathroom floor was boiling hot for the last two days and the loud whooshing sound behind the panel of unrestricted flow
  • We have three thermostats and three zones. Today I discovered that one thermostat controls four actuators and another thermostat does nothing. That explains a few things.. Unfortunately I don't have access to any other parts of the system so I don't know if I can fix this as I don't want to deal with live wires, even at 24V.
  • The supply and return manifolds were hooked up in reverse. I am not sure the consequence of that, but I have noticed that the flow meters read at zero even when water is flowing through the zones.