Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Making strong, leak-free, correctly-angled pipe joints - how?

Precaud
Precaud Member Posts: 370
I'm a newbie to plumbing. I've installed chimney liners, fixed faucets, and cleared drain traps. But redoing the piping (it's all 1/4" brass) for my boiler's pressure sensing hardware (Pressuretrol and gauge) has me stumped.

When working with combinations of angled pipes, tees, elbows, pigtails, etc. How in the world do you get strong, leak-free joints AND have all the angled pieces coming off at the correct angle? It's been a real crapshoot for me so far.

Thanks.
1950's Bryant boiler in a 1-pipe steam system at 7,000 ft in northern NM, where basements are rare.

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,572
    brass is a little harder to get to seal than steel or iron, i usually use teflon tape and 3 or 4 turns of it and dope on brass. since you are working with a steam boiler and the oil in the dope would cause water issues until you skimmed it off, you might want to try tape only. (maybe others know why brass seems to be harder to get to seal, maybe because it is more brittle and less malleable than steel or iron)

just feel when it starts getting tight and stop when it is at the angle you need it at. you can usually back it off a couple degrees if you need to
    Precaud
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    @mattmia2
    Takes practice, pretty hard to describe it's just something you learn to do.

Some tips:

Know your "make in" ........the amount a pipe or nipple make into a fitting. It changes with the diameter of the pipe...for instance 1/2" pipe is about half an inch. 4" pipe is about 1 1/4"