Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

ESBE Mixing Valve/Logitech Question

Options
Hello. Long time reader of this forum, first time poster. Received much help from the info here over the years.

I'm an electrical contractor west of Boston. Have wired many boilers and controls over the years. This summer I did a remodel with an addition to my own house. I laid Warmboard R radiant in the entire addition and the remodeled rooms of the existing house. I ran all the pex and brought it to the manifolds and had the plumbing contractor do all the main piping and manifold connections.

I have an oil fired Buderus G125 with Logamatic R2107 control. After discussion with the plumbing contractor it was decided we would install the FM241 expansion card into the Logamatic to control a 3 wire floating mixing actuator. The plumber installed a Danfoss mixing valve with an ESBE actuator. There is no primary loop with a pump on this system. The system currently consists of a basic main rigid manifold with two zone pumps. These pumps feed baseboard in the untouched 2nd floor area and a first floor untouched baseboard in the living room. A line from this manifold was taken to feed the hot side of the radiant mixing valve. The cold/return was piped back from the mixing valve to the return boiler manifold. The radiant system pump was installed after the mixed output of the valve. The radiant system has two manifolds with Uponor zone valves opening and closing the loops by zone controlled Taco zone control relays with end switches to call the pump. We just got our first cold blast this winter and the heating system as a whole seems to be working ok.