Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Furnace help

Jsmith94
Jsmith94 Member Posts: 12
edited October 2019 in Gas Heating
I’m trying to purge my system but it’s not pushing the water out. What can I do? 1960s crane furnance. 1 zone going from basement to second floor.different heating for first floor.

Comments

• Jsmith94
    My grandfather hasn’t let me get rid of the mess down here don’t mind it 🤣
  • Intplm.
    Intplm. Member Posts: 1,880
    Is the water on ? Your PRV is up and in the run position. Check to make sure the valve serving the prv is open all the way.

What's the pressure reading on your boiler ?

Your purge point is about three feet above the circulator.

Have you done this before or is this your first time?

• Jsmith94
    edited October 2019

This is my first time I just put on a new pressure relief valve because the old one was dripping
  • Jsmith94
    Hot water leaving furnance but it doesn’t make its way back. When I try to purge a lot comes out at first then dies out to a very light stream
  • Jsmith94
    Bump
  • HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,803
    edited October 2019
    Where are you purging from?
    The 2 valves above the circulator is where you need to purge.
    Shut off the boiler.
    Shut off the valve to the expansion tank.
    Shut off the valve above the circulator.
    Connect a hose to the drain valve directly above it.
    Open the drain valve and purge the system of air. Don't fast fill. Put the lever down and let it purge for a good 10 minutes.
    Shut the drain valve.
    Drain the expansion tank. (Which is probably why the relief valve was leaking.)
    Open the valve to the expansion tank and check system pressure. 12-15 psi.
    Open the valve above the circulator.
    Crank up the heat.
    Start, cycle, and check.