Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Indirect water tank temperature issues

Hello all. I replaced my boiler/water heater about 2 years ago with Lochinvar KBN 110 and Bradford white PowerStor SW-2-65-L idirect water tank
I also had the plumber install Honeywell AM-1 mixing valve on the tank.
For the most part everything works great but sometimes my hot water is luke warm. Doesn't happen often and i noticed mainly it happens when there is a large water usage
Most recent it happened was yesterday. Went to sleep and water was warm at full hot open and after I woke up, its fine. Another few times it happened
when wife wanted to use the soaking tub. my WAF tanked those 3 times :)

I have my mixing valve set at 120 and water temp in the tank is 140. I have my lochinvar set to 4 degree so it kicks on when its 135.
Temp sensor on the indirect is located towards the bottom of the tank. Temp sensor seems to work fine.
I did notice that mixing valve siezed on me. I tried to adjust it and its not turning. Any ideas on whats happening and how to fix it?
I'm guessing mixing valve got something inside it stuck and its not mixing water correctly?
not sure what else to check. I called the plumber and he told me to just get another mixing valve and replace it. but I want to make sure i do it right and
don't have to do this again.

Any recommenadation on a mixing valve to get?

here is an album to the pictures:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/B4YjLktjwofjd4dR9

Comments

• kcopp
    kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
    The mix valve sometimes needs to get "woken up". That involves turning the knob up and down a few times. I would be willing to bet that the knob has been locked in place w/ the set screw. Loosen it up and pull up. It should turn freely.
  • kalex1114
    kalex1114 Member Posts: 104
    kcopp said: