Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

10 story building open hot water system need advice

mikedo
mikedo Member Posts: 174
I'm working in a large 220 unit 10 story building the heating system has an open to the atmosphere tank on the roof. they are having problems with sediment. it is 50 plus years old. I'm not that experienced with a system this big. is it common for the system to be open to the atmosphere. i am looking to consult with someone who has more experience than myself on troubleshooting this. not looking for free advice I'm willing to pay an expert for advice even just for a phone consultation . I'm a licensed contractor in ct building is in bridgeport ct

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,453
    Open systems that are 50 years old are going to have rust and sediment, that's why most all hot water systems are closed. I have never seen an open system that large only residential on the heat side.

I had a similar situation wit a chilled water system that originally used river water and was converted to chilled water. They converted it to a closed system, installed strainers and used water treatment. It took 2-3 years of operation to straighten it out. Some times the strainers plugged up more than once a day.

Some piping had to be taken apart and cleaned, leaks fixed, air handler coils changed . It was a long procedure and cost a lot of $$$. But this system had 10" pipe. The cost to repipe in occupied areas was not an option.

Funny thing is the engineer recommended not trying to reuse the system, the owner wouldn't listen.

Yours may not bee as bad. You might rempve a few sections of pipe in different areas and take a look.

But then, winter is coming
  • mikedo