Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Add radiant ceiling to get return temp way down in a low-load house?

3IMOH
3IMOH Member Posts: 7
Hi All-

I am looking for advice in trying to make our existing hydronic system more efficient in a super-insulated house that I have been building for the last 4 years. We have been living in it for 2 years.

All of our DHW and heat comes from a CO2 based heat pump from Sanden. We were involved in a WSU/BPA research study that tested out this unit on 10 homes. Here is a link for more info on the study.

The house is near Portland Or. It is 2 story, 2000 sf and has a heat load of 6500 btu/h. We have 2 panel radiators, one on each floor that are fed by a Taco X-pump block pulling from the Sanden DHW tank. We keep the setpoint at 71-72 and it has never gone below 70 in winter...we certainly don't have any complaints about comfort.

The issue is the efficiency of the Sanden heat pump when used for heating loads. The unit was designed to heat DHW, where any hot water used would be replaced by cold water at the bottom of the tank. It draws this cold water and heats it in one pass to 160 degrees (depending on setpoint), storing it in and 80 gallon tank. The outdoor compressor depends on getting cold water to operate efficiently. Here is a chart showing what happens to the unit at various input water temps:

| Inlet Water Temp °F | Capacity kw/ Btu/h | Unit COP | Flow Rate (GPM)
| 50 | 4.5 / 15,400 | 4.5 | 0.32
| 80 | 3.4 / 11,600 | 3.3 | 0.38
| 100 | 3.0 / 10, 200 | 2.7 | 0.45
| 115 | 2.6 / 8,900 | 2.4 | 0.49
| 120 | 2.4 / 8,100 | 2.0 | 0.58

When we are heating, the storage tank eventually gets mixed together and the water in the bottom of the tank going to the heat pump gets to around 110 degrees. As you can see, that temperature is really hurting the performance of the unit.