Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler low return temperature explanation.

Options
TimZ
TimZ Member Posts: 18
Hi. I am new to boilers and need some help explaining low return temperature. I have a Weil MCLain cga 3 boiler and the manual is adamant about return temp being above 130 degrees. Corrosion and damage to the boiler. My thermostat is set at 70 degrees and during the day today it was 15 degrees outside. From about noon to 2:30 the boiler didn’t run. The thermostat actually went to 71 degrees. Sunny day outside with a few big windows. The radiators were cool to the touch. The boiler temp dropped to 90 degrees. This evening the temp is 5 degrees outside. Burners were on for 10 minutes off for 25 minutes and the boiler temp dropped to 127 degrees. The thermometer on the return manifold was 110. Is a low return temp when you hit 175 degrees at the boiler but the return temp is lower than 130? Is it bad for the boiler to cool down and the restart at a low temp? Thanks.

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Options
    As I understand the 130 degree limitation, this would be while the boiler is firing, and not when it is off. When it is firing, and the returns are consistently below that temperature, the flue gases can condense on the metal, and eventually rot them out.
    Does the boiler get up above the 130 mark while it is firing?
    Congratulations on reading the manual for the boiler, and wanting to inform yourself on this subject, and I hope the installer also read the manual!—NBC
    JohnNYGordyGroundUpSuperTech
  • JohnNY
    JohnNY Member Posts: 3,230
    Options
    Yes. <130° is only a problem while the boiler is firing. The hot flue gases against the cool metal cause the condensing problem.