Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What valve to use for this different looking 1930s steam radiator (pictures included)

Options
Hey, newbie here, so I'm going to give you as much info as possible hoping that you can help me choose which valve to use for this radiator. My super hasn't been much help and internet searches leave me with questions.

Problem: Valve is hissing, sputtering for 15 minutes - 2 hours at a time throughout the day at 45-75dB. I'm loosing sleep and going crazy.

Current valve info: No markings on valve, 1/2" pipe, top of valve is about 1" from upper enclosure
Radiator is: 29 columns, 15" column height, columns are slightly angled with no visible control valve.
Building info: seems to have 1 boiler for a 6 floor, 72 apartment building (thank you to the NYC dob archives)
Apartment info: 6th floor, 400 sq ft apartment, 2 small radiators in bathroom and kitchen that aren't problematic
Photos:
1. Whole radiator
2. Valve (on left end of radiator)
3. Pipe that the valve is connected to
4. Right end of radiator

My research leads me to think I should get a C, D or 1 straight valve for a 1/2" pipe. MaidOMist has good reviews. What do you think?

Also, some things I cant figure out: Is this 1-pipe or 2-pipe steam? or a main vent? There is no visible control valve for the radiator

Comments

• BobC
    BobC Member Posts: 5,478
    Options
    The vent you have now looks like a big box USAV vent and they are pure crap. That's a convector and those should be vented slowly, do you know if the rest of your radiators have the same air vent this convector has?

Convectors don't usually have the room you need to install a gorton (or Maid O Mist) vent, the Hoffman 41 is a good choice. Make sure the vent has the threads coming out the bottom of the vent.

Bob