Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New boiler for home

Options
miatafrank
miatafrank Member Posts: 14
I'm a long time plumbing contractor in suburban Philadelphia. I'd like to replace the boiler in my home before the upcoming heating season. My existing American Standard boiler is an atmospheric venter from the mid sixties and last season's power outages gave me first hand experience of what it's like to be without heat. My house is an 1800 square feet two story dutch colonial with two zones of copper finned baseboard. I'd like to install a new direct vent unit that would allow for lower water temperatures should I switch some of the radiation to radiant. Also, outdoor reset control and continuous circulation seem like good options. I don't want to go ultra high efficient because of the problems I have heard but I certainly want to do better than an atmospheric vented unit. I'm prepared to move the boiler location to another wall and re-pipe extensively in the basement. It has to be a work of art when I'm done and I won't go cheap with the circulator, zone valves, automatic air vent, etc. Can anyone recommend a reliable boiler that you have a good track record with? It would get me headed in the right direction and with a sense of excitement.

Comments

• HVACguyinME
    HVACguyinME Member Posts: 25
    Options
    If you’re looking to go with multiple temps, look at the IBC SL. The control has the ability to adjust each zone for different temps, heat curve and priority. Plus, the boiler has side piping, which in my eyes, makes it easier and better looking then with all the piping coming out the bottom.
    kcopp
  • miatafrank
    Options
    Great. I'll definitely check out the IBC SL. Thanks for the help.
  • bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    Options