Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lifespan of a GRUNDFOS Circulator

rt_2
rt_2 Member Posts: 86
I use a Grundfos circulator for my EVAC system. I've been using it for about 8 or 9 years now. Any idea what the lifespan of one of these pumps would be. The reason I ask is we are headed to FL for the winter again. In the past, I use to cover the array with a tarp so it did not run while we're gone. Last year, I ended up installing a heat exchanger in the loop so I can take advantage of the hot solar heated glycol and dump the heat in the basement. We had a fairly mild winter last year but I did burn only 1/2 of the fuel oil used to heat my house compared to previous years. So I believe it's working.
I'm afraid of the pump possible failing while I'm gone and end up with a mess. I'm thinking over the life span of this pump, it probably has run on average 8 hours a day for the last 8 or 9 years. Am I running on borrowed time? Should this question be asked in another section?

This is the circulator:
https://www.amazon.com/Grundfos-UPS15-58FRC-3-Speed-Circulator-59896343/dp/B003XEYLU0

Comments

• RyanW
    RyanW Member Posts: 31
    I have one from the early 1980s
  • Abracadabra
    Abracadabra Member Posts: 1,948
    mid 80s grundfos ups20-42
    still running, quiet as day 1
    it's been running 24/7 as a DHW recirc pump, no strainer..

that's about 280,000 hours of uptime :)

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,021
    Is the pump in a solar loop with glycol? If so you have freeze protection but not over-heat protection, I think that is the concern?