Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Amana furnace- flame sensor keeps failing about once monthly

carlc
carlc Member Posts: 4
Hey folks, I’ve been working on Amana AMH80803BNBB furnace for the past 3 or 4 months. The furnace is from 2016. Starting this winter, about once a month we’ve been having flame sensor failure issues. We’ve cleaned the sensor, replaced it with an oem and tried a different manufacturers flame sensor. Replaced the control board as well. When the sensors fail they are testing at 0ua. When a new sensor is installed it tests around 3ua. There is not excessive dust/dirt or detergents near the furnace. Any ideas? Thanks

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    The flame sensor is only half of the electric circuit.
    The grounding path is the other half.

Do you have a separate ground wire from the burner to the ignition module? I would add one IIWM.
    The ground path may be thru the burner or pilot tubing if any.
    Also the metal plate behind the pilot flame needs to be in place and clean for the process to work reliably.

It could be that every time you change the FS you re-establish the marginal grounding circuit. Then it eventually fails for a variety of reasons.
    DZoro
  • unclejohn
    unclejohn Member Posts: 1,833
    Might as well replace sensor wire as well. And check ground wire to furnace from panel.
  • Mike
    Mike Member Posts: 94
    Have you checked your flame signal? How many microamps?
  • HomerJSmith
    HomerJSmith Member Posts: 2,426