Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie here - To start or not to start the boiler?

shas595
shas595 Member Posts: 11
Hi all - new to the forums; seems like a great place to get some info.

I have a peerless WBV-03-110-WPC - Oil Fired Water Furnace. I opened it up yesterday to start the cleaning process and noticed my target wall was in bad shape; real bad shape. Crumbled and in pieces and the base of whats left was cracked beyond repair. I cleaned, scraped & brushed the pins, exchanger and chamber. However now I don't have a target wall at all. I've got one on order to be here 3 days; but its going to be cold the next few days. Is it OK to run for a couple days without any target wall? I can replace the kaowool roll on the bottom of the chamber and the top access panel seal, and have replaced the door seal already. Just not sure if its OK to do without the wall for now. Let me know your thoughts or if I am completely off point here!

Comments

• HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,804
    edited October 2017
    As long as the flame doesn't impinge on the CI, it'll be ok.
    Is it max fired? What burner?
  • shas595
    the burner is Carlin - and I do not know what you mean by CI. Thanks for the reply!
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    shas595 said:

the burner is Carlin - and I do not know what you mean by CI. Thanks for the reply!

CI = Cast Iron
  • shas595
    Makes sense! I was afraid of creating an external hot-spot. The cast is in good shape; I am not sure when the target fell apart, I would assume during its last use as i cant imagine it crumbling while just sitting over the summer. Im just nervous about letting it run without any insulation or anything to help spread the heat and make a good combustion.
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506